Pack 511's
Home Page
Member Access

Cub Scout Pack 511
(Mountain House, California)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login
updated: 05/2018


Since 1930, the Boy Scouts of America has helped younger boys through Cub Scouting. In 2018, we are excited to announce that our Cub Scouting program is now open to boys and girls. By welcoming both girls and boys into the program, even more youth will have access to the character development and values-based leadership that Scouting promises. Parents, leaders, and organizations work together to achieve the purposes of Cub Scouting. Currently, Cub Scouting is the largest of the BSA’s three membership divisions (The others are Boy Scouting and Venturing). We have provided some information here, but you may also wish to visit for more information.


    Groups of 5-10 kids (of the same age/grade level) called Dens meet at least once a month, while our more active Dens meet twice monthly. Girls and boys will have separate dens. The ranks of cub scouting begin with Tigers (first-graders), then progress to Wolves (second-graders), Bears (third-graders), and Webelos Scouts (fourth- and fifth-graders). Den meetings are often held at a Den Leader’s home.

    Once a month, all of the Dens and family members gather for a Pack meeting at Mountain House High School Multipurpose Room under the direction of the Cubmaster and Pack Committee. The committee includes parents of kids in the pack. There are other Pack sponsored events and meetings. For example, our Pack makes an effort to participate in local community events and does service projects throughout the year as well. We also have the Blue & Gold Banquet and Pinewood Derby every year.


    Apart from the fun and excitement of Cub Scout activities, the Scout Oath, Scout Law, and the Cub Scout sign, handshake,motto, and salute all teach good citizenship and contribute to a kid's sense of belonging:


    On my honor I will do my best
    To do my duty to God and my country
    and to obey the Scout Law;
    To help other people at all times;
    To keep myself physically strong,
    mentally awake, and morally straight.


    The Scout Law has 12 points. Each is a goal for every Scout. A Scout tries to live up to the Law every day. It is not always easy to do, but a Scout always tries.

    A Scout is:

    TRUSTWORTHY. Tell the truth and keep promises. People can depend on you.

    LOYAL. Show that you care about your family, friends, Scout leaders, school, and country.

    HELPFUL. Volunteer to help others without expecting a reward.

    FRIENDLY. Be a friend to everyone, even people who are very different from you.

    COURTEOUS. Be polite to everyone and always use good manners.

    KIND. Treat others as you want to be treated . Never harm or kill any living thing without good reason.

    OBEDIENT. Follow the rules of your family, school, and pack. Obey the laws of your community and country.

    CHEERFUL. Look for the bright side of life. Cheerfully do tasks that come your way. Try to help others be happy.

    THRIFTY. Work to pay your own way. Try not to be wasteful. Use time, food, supplies, and natural resources wisely.

    BRAVE. Face difficult situations even when you feel afraid. Do what you think is right despite what others might be doing or saying.

    CLEAN. Keep your body and mind fit . Help keep your home and community clean.

    REVERENT. Be reverent toward God. Be faithful in your religious duties. Respect the beliefs of others.


    Do Your Best.


    The Cub Scouting colors are blue and gold. They have a special meaning, which will help youth see beyond the fun of Cub Scouting to its ultimate goals:

    • The BLUE stands for truth and spirituality, steadfast loyalty, and the sky above; and
    • The GOLD stands for warm sunlight, good cheer, and happiness.