Pack 511's
Home Page
Member Access

Cub Scout Pack 511
(Mountain House, California)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login


Updated: 05/2018

Mountain House Pack 511 is chartered by Mountain House Flag Football and is part of the Greater Yosemite Council of the Boy Scouts of America.We are proud to welcome you to our pack's website and encourage you to join Scouting.

Cub Scouts is a year-round program that offers fun activities that promote character and leadership development. Our program is designed to be hands-on, and parents are encouraged to play an active role in our programs. Cub Scouting is for children in the first through fifth grades. Youth who are older than 10, or who have completed the fifth grade, can no longer join Cub Scouting. 

Youth of different ages have different ranks in Cub Scouting. As you go from Tiger (age 7) to Webelos Scout (age 10), you learn new things and new skills that you use to meet new challenges as you get older.

  • Tiger Scouts. First-grade youth join a Tiger den, where each Scout works with an adult partner on the requirements to earn the Tiger badge.
  • Wolf Scouts. Second-grade youth graduate into a Wolf den. They go to weekly den meetings on their own, but their families still help them work on the requirements for the Wolf badge.
  • Bear Scouts. Youth in the third grade are members of a Bear den. They also work with their families to do the requirements for the Bear badge, but Scouts this old have enough knowledge and skill to take on more of the work by themselves.
  • Webelos Scouts. Youth in the fourth and fifth grades become Webelos Scouts. Webelos Scouts do more advanced activities to get ready to graduate into Boy Scouting.

Where you begin in Cub Scouting depends on your age at the time you join. If you join when you’re in first grade, you will begin as a Tiger. If you do not join until the third grade, you’ll begin as a Bear Cub Scout. You won’t have to go back and earn the Tiger Cub and Wolf badges.

The Arrow of Light Rank

The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light rank, which you will begin working on as a Webelos Scout. It is the only Cub Scout badge that you can wear on the Boy Scout uniform. As you work on the Arrow of Light rank, you practice outdoor skills, get physically fit, and learn more about citizenship and working with others. All of these things prepare you for the next stage of Scouting.

Are Cub Scouts the same as Boy Scouts?

Cub Scouting is a program of the Boy Scouts of America—so in that sense, Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts are both members of the same organization. However, they are entirely different programs: Cub Scouting is a family-oriented program designed specifically to address the needs of younger children, and serve as an introduction to Boy Scouting or Venturing.

Find out more about Mountain House Pack 511. For Further questions, please email us at